Springfield Township Trustees logo


Click here for info on COMMUNITY DAY!!

Springfield Township, Mahoning County, Ohio

Springfield Township was settled in approximately 1801 by Peter and Margaret Musser when they purchased Sections 21, 26, 27 and 36, Township 9, Range 1 In what is now Springfield Township of Mahoning County, Ohio. Springfield officially became a Township in 1803.

There are three towns within the Township which consist of:

1) Petersburg, which was founded in 1810 by Peter Musser, Jr.

2) New Springfield, which was founded in 1826 by Abraham Christ.

3) New Middletown, which was founded in 1829 by Samuel Moore. The Village of New Middletown was incorporated in 1913 and remains a political entity within the Township.

Click here for a document on the benefits of township creation.

ArrowIcon BloggerIcon AimIcon DeliciousIcon PaperIcon EtsyIcon FacebookIcon FilmStripIcon FlickrIcon CameraIcon LaunchIcon GooglePlus2Icon GooglePlusIcon HeartIcon InformationIcon InstagramIcon LastfmIcon FrontCameraIcon LinkedInIcon EmailIcon MoneyIcon ItunesIcon MyspaceIcon OpenTableIcon PayPalIcon PencilIcon PersonIcon PhotoIcon PicasaIcon PinterestIcon PodcastIcon RssIcon ShoppingCartIcon SoundCloudIcon StarIcon TableProjectIcon TheCityIcon TumblrIcon Twitter2Icon TwitterIcon TypepadIcon VideoIcon VimeoIcon WordPressIcon YelpIcon YoutubeIcon